How to Reset Trust This Computer on iPhone and iPad

What Exactly Does “Trust This Computer” Mean?

When you connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to a computer for the first time, a prompt will ask whether you “Trust This Computer”. Trusting a computer exposes your phone’s data to it – everything you can access via iTunes including photos, videos, contacts, messages, setttings and other content. To recover or transfer data on iPhone/iPad with desktop software like Free iPhone Recovery or Phone Data Transfer, you should tap “Trust”. Conversely, you can tap “Don’t Trust”, which can help to protect your iPhone/iPad from malicious chargers and ensure no one can access your iDevice from a computer without your passcode.

Should you “Trust This Computer”? Accidentally tapped “Trust” or “Don’t Trust” on your iPhone or iPad, how to undo this? Don’t worry. In this post we’ll show you how to trust and untrust a computer on iPhone and iPad:

How to Untrust a Trusted Computer on iPhone and iPad

Occasionally, we have to connect iPhone or iPad to an unfamiliar computer. If you trust the computer mistakenly and worry about the serious risk, here is how to undo it:

  1. On iPhone, go to Settings > General > Reset.
  2. Choose Reset Location & Privacy.
  3. Connect iPhone/iPad to the formerly trusted computer.
  4. The alert message will pop up. Tap “Don’t Trust”.

Notes:
1) To revoke authorization from all the computers that your device has trusted, you can choose Reset Network Settings in step 2.
2) Reset location & privacy and network settings won’t delete data from your devices.

How to Trust a Computer after Don’t Trust on iPhone/iPad

If you accidentally tapped “Don’t Trust” and now you actually do want to trust the computer to access your iPhone/iPad from it, please follow steps below:

  1. On iPhone, go to Settings > General > Reset.
  2. Choose Reset All Settings. The iPhone will restart.
  3. Connect iPhone to the computer and open iTunes.
  4. iTunes will ask you to allow this computer to access information on your iPhone.
  5. Click Continue. iTunes should recognize your iPhone in a minute.
  6. Disconnect and reconnect iPhone to computer. Tap “Trust” from the promt.

Notes:
1) Reset all settings won’t delete data from your device. But settings like WiFi password will be cleared.
2) Make sure your iTunes is up to date.
3) If your iPhone is running on an OS lower than iOS 8, you’ll have to choose Erase All Content and Settings to reset Trust This Computer, which will delete all data and files from your device.

Related Articles